About Us

Maryland Tamil Academy (MTA) is dedicated to teaching the Tamil language to children in and around Maryland, USA. This is a volunteer-run non-profit organization and serving people from Maryland, DC, and Virginia. MTA’s primary activities revolve around weekly Tamil classes, which are held on every Friday from 7 pm to 9 pm at Kingsview Middle School, 18909 Kingsview Rd Germantown, MD 20874.

MTA is a charitable, non-profit, secular organization established in Maryland, primarily to teach the Tamil language to children and introduce the history and cultural values to them.

For the past 10 years, volunteers have been dedicating their time and efforts to teaching children in this area. Classes have been held in public libraries, private homes, and other venues. As the demand for Tamil instruction has grown the school has also grown.

Towards this purpose and to successfully continue to develop the school in Maryland, MTA’s volunteers have established the following goals for the organization.

  • Provide a fun, learning environment for children in the Tamil school.
  • Introduce Tamil culture and history to the children.
  • Establish a sustainable volunteer-based organization as a non-profit.
  • Create an open, democratic organization structure to promote transparent decision-making and sustainable progress.

In addition to Tamil education, MTA volunteers have been working with the Tamil Sangam of Greater Washington, Inc for the children to participate in various Tamil cultural activities and competitions. Also, MTA organizes various cultural and educational competitions for the Tamil students during mid and annual year functions.

Maryland Tamil Academy is organized and run by volunteers. All of our teachers, organizers and administrators have dedicated their time to ensure that our classes run weekly and in with the standards of the ATA curriculum and follow MCPS facility guidelines.

நிர்வாகக்குழு / MTA Board

President: Mr. Suresh Ramamoorthy
Vice-President: Mr. Vadivel Ramasamy
Secretary: Mr. Kamalabharathy Pachiyappan
Joint Secretary: Mrs. Lakshmi Venkataraman
Treasurer: Mr. Arun Venkatesh Chelladurai

Board of Directors:
Mr. Jagadeesh Shanmugasundaram
Mr. Ramasamy Kandasamy
Mr. Sankarasubramanian Parameswaran
Mrs. Shoba Ramesh